Laag Sa Malasag

I celebrated my work monthsary last July 16. Life as a worker is really not easy. With this, I really seek to unwind in a serene place away from the chaotic city. I actually love nature. Because of this, together with my two friends, Pamela and Wendy, we went to Malasag Eco-Tourism Village or famously known as Eco-Village last Sunday here in Cagayan de Oro City. It is situated at Barangay Gusa.

Malasag Eco-Tourism Village is a place where someone would really want to go. Likewise, it is managed by the national government as the office of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources or DENR is located nearby the area. One could really witness the breathtaking wildlife.

We really didn’t plan to go this tranquil area. I was the one who called my two friends last Saturday at 5PM since I really wanted to hang out or in Cebuano, “la-ag,” before the hateful Monday comes. It was also a time to pose for lots and lots of pictures. So, I donned my OOTD. Haha.

The last time I went to this place was decades ago, when I was still in pre-school. I remembered that we had our field trip in this place.

We reached the place by riding an RD Gusa Jeepney. At the highway, one could ride a “habal-habal” for Php14. Yet, we decided to take a taxi. We just paid around Php70. At the same time, we brought our lunch and snacks  before going to the place.

SAM_5700.JPG
Captivating sea of Misamis Oriental
SAM_5699.JPG
Pamela taking snapshots of the picturesque scenery
SAM_5706.JPG
With the photobomber friend while doing my random acts of modeling. Haha.
SAM_5709.JPG
They’re coming

 

SAM_5708.JPG
Power of timer 😛
SAM_5713.JPG
Going down to the various places in the area
SAM_5719.JPG
Selfies…
SAM_5716.JPG
and selfies.
SAM_5714.JPG
Going down to discover the area’s places
SAM_5720.JPG
One of the bahaykubos that we see nearby

SAM_5721.JPG

SAM_5722.JPG

SAM_5724.JPG

SAM_5725.JPG
Going down to the hanging bridge and aviary

SAM_5726.JPG

SAM_5729.JPG
Emote din pag may time

SAM_5731.JPG

SAM_5735.JPG

SAM_5739.JPG

SAM_5737.JPG

SAM_5743.JPG
And we reached the hanging bridge

SAM_5744.JPG

SAM_5749.JPG

SAM_5753.JPG

SAM_5746.JPG
There is no wifi in the forest but I promise, you will find a better connection. 😉

THE AVIARY AND THE MINI ZOO

I was really amazed by the area’s aviary and mini zoo. I saw several animals and species which I just saw for the first time in my life.

SAM_5761.JPG
I was in awe while at the same time, scared, when I saw this leg-sized python. He or she was sleeping in the corner
SAM_5762.JPG
Blurry picture of the python
SAM_5763.JPG
These monitor lizards are cute yet scary. They’re the ones we commonly call as bayawak

SAM_5764.JPG

SAM_5765.JPG
I thought that this was the Philippine Eagle
SAM_5766.JPG
Civet cat, one of the endangered species in the Philippines, that produces the famous Civet coffee, one of the world’s most expensive coffees

SAM_5767.JPG

SAM_5768.JPG

SAM_5769.JPG
I was actually imitating my friend
SAM_5770.JPG
Meet my friend. Haha!
SAM_5774.JPG
With our monkey friends

SAM_5773.JPG

SAM_5772.JPG

SAM_5776.JPG
Going back up

SAM_5778.JPG

SAM_5780.JPG

SAM_5781.JPG

SAM_5782.JPG

SAM_5784.JPG
To the swimming pool
SAM_5785.JPG
Closer capture of the swimming pool

SAM_5789.JPG

SAM_5794.JPG

SAM_5800.JPG

SAM_5805.JPG

SAM_5819.JPG

SAM_5827.JPG

SAM_5837.JPG

Malasag Eco-Tourism Park is a place that one must truly visit in Cagayan de Oro City. Relaxing and unwinding from the city need not be expensive. One just needs to see nearby the wonder and beauty which our Mother Nature has blessed to us.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

