The Narrow Door

A door is a symbol for opportunity. When a door is closed, we attempt to knock it so that we would be able to enter the room. At times, a door is closed for a reason because there are other doors waiting for us which is the better one. On the other hand, when a door is open to welcome us, we either go immediately inside and unveil the opportunity or just shy away from it and you realize one day that you regretfully missed the opportunity.

There are lots of doors in our lives. Similarly, there is also a door which God has made and that is the door to enter His amazing Kingdom. Yet, it is truly not an easy one to enter this door as one should really strive and put an effort to enter this narrow door.

Jesus passed through towns and villages,
teaching as he went and making his way to Jerusalem.
Someone asked him,
“Lord, will only a few people be saved?”
He answered them,
“Strive to enter through the narrow gate,
for many, I tell you, will attempt to enter
but will not be strong enough.
After the master of the house has arisen and locked the door,
then will you stand outside knocking and saying,
‘Lord, open the door for us.’
He will say to you in reply,
‘I do not know where you are from.
And you will say,
‘We ate and drank in your company and you taught in our streets.’
Then he will say to you,
‘I do not know where you are from.
Depart from me, all you evildoers!’
And there will be wailing and grinding of teeth
when you see Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob
and all the prophets in the kingdom of God
and you yourselves cast out.
And people will come from the east and the west
and from the north and the south
and will recline at table in the kingdom of God.
For behold, some are last who will be first,
and some are first who will be last.”

To follow Christ is a path less-travelled. In this time, only a few people follow His ways. Some took the easy road without realizing that they have chosen the difficult road one day. For those who follow Him, it is a difficult road but one day, it would be an easy one to enter that narrow door.

To follow Christ is to make sacrifices. The day I decided to follow Him by serving our parish as a lector and commentator, at first, was a smooth-sailing journey. However, as time goes by, I was challenged by several things. My faith and my principles as a person are being tested by the real world. Likewise, as a person working in the banking industry 5 days a week from Mondays to Fridays, during the weekends, I have to make sacrifices during Fridays by waking up at 5am because I was assigned as a reader and commentator. It’s really not easy especially that you really wanted to wake up late. However, in my mind, I know that through these sacrifices, I would be rewarded with treasures that will last forever.

To follow Christ is to do what He says. Faith is totally useless if you don’t put it into action. It’s really hard to do what He says especially that we are bombarded with worldly matters. It’s hard to swallow one’s pride, to love one’s enemies, to stay silent when your parents reprimanded you, and to be pure in one’s thoughts and actions, just to name a few. Yet, it in the end, one just has to think of the things He would reward us if we follow Him and obey His commands.

With these things, it made me realize that in order to enter a door, one must work hard, and strive for their best to reach that ultimate goal. This is greatly relevant for me as a person working in the banking industry. Everyday is a challenging one for me. Last Friday was a bad day for me as I got reprimanded by an officer in our department and I had a conflict with my new partner in work. I realized that you have invested your time and your effort yet no one appreciated what you’ve done. Life is hard. Sometimes, I just want to make my life an easy one. However, as one gets older, life only gets more difficult. I was mostly struck by Monsignor Elmer Abacahin’s homily I watched this afternoon because he uttered in the homily that, “As long as you live, there will always be difficulties. Difficulties are inevitable because if you’re not experiencing difficulties, you’re not living.” Thankfully, I am indeed living!

I know that through the challenges I experience today, I would be able to experience my goal and to grow as a person. Eventually, I will be saved by Him. Moreover, amidst these challenges, I am grateful that I still continue to serve Him and see Him through other people as I was be able to feel His love for me.

Tonight, I pray that He would give me strength for another day tomorrow and for another week. Hopefully, despite the obstacles I would face soon, I would be continued to be strengthened by Him because He is my light and my salvation. I need not be afraid of anything.

Leave a Reply

