How Working Changed Me As A Person

“Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase. Just take the first step.” These words from the famous Martin Luther King, Jr. struck me when I first watched four years ago a DVD copy of the book, The Secret by Rhonda Byrne. Today, this quote is truly relevant in my life as a person who is a newbie in the corporate world.

Working in a bank is something that I did not aspire. All I just wanted is to work in a known and reputable company wherein when people would ask you about your occupation, they would be amazed by your job. Indeed, somehow, I was able to attain that goal. However, I am now employed in the banking and finance industry.

Almost employed for 5 months in one of the biggest banks in the country, I have countless experiences which I truly put in my heart and in my mind at this very moment because I know that these things are considered as stepping stones for me to become a successful individual in the near future.

To sum it up, it’s really very hard especially for a fresh graduate like me. I need to adjust with several things. To name a few, the environment, the culture, the people, and the way of life. I’m just amazed how times flies swiftly. Moreover, below are the 10 things I learned from my almost 5 month experience while working:

1. IN THE REAL WORLD, YOU HAVE TO WORK WITH PEOPLE THAT YOU EITHER LIKE OR NOT

When we were still in school, we chose our friends or our groupmates in our research papers when our class teacher allows us to do so. We choose people whom we are comfortable to be with. Yet, in the real world, you have to deal and work with people, everyday, even if you like them or not. It sucks, right?

It’s better said than done. It’s really very hard especially when we deal with people who are moody, who has a bipolar mentality, who always complains, and who does not meet our standards. Moreover, what lies here is that we know how to deal with such people. We learn that despite such negativity, we know how to instill professionalism in our work.

2. PUNCTUALITY

It’s a struggle to get out of bed at 6:30am or 2 hours before 8:30am, especially in the cold weather these days wherein you wanted to have a date with your bed all day. However, one needs to let go from our bed to prepare for the day and go to work before 8:30AM. Or else, when the office time already strikes at 8:31AM, you’re already late.

That’s why if your still a student right now, it’s better if you practice punctuality while you’re still studying so that you would be trained with this habit. 😉

3. HONESTY AND INTEGRITY

When I work, we are not always watched over by our bosses or heads. It’s up to us if we do our job or not. However, I always put into my mind to do my responsibility and to do what is right even if no one is watching.

Working in a bank entails a lot of responsibility. Aside from that, there are a lot of temptations surrounding me. It’s a choice for me to stand strong or to exchange my beliefs with temporal matters which could put an indelible stain in my reputation.

4. BEING FIRM WITH WHAT YOU BELIEVE IN

Because of what I’ve mentioned in #3, it is of great importance to be firm what you believe in. It’s easy to say this, especially for me. Yet, when I am already actually confronted in situations where my beliefs are put into test, it’s truly hard for me to make a decision. So, in order to make wise decisions, I take a break for a few time to get back to my normal state of mind before making that move. What’s truly important is what you’re doing is right, no matter what other people will say.

5. SURROUND YOURSELF WITH PEOPLE WHO INSPIRES AND MOTIVATES YOU TO BE THE BEST

In the real world, there will always be people who would make fish stories about you or do something just to get you down. What I’ve learned is to never mind them.

I just say these things to my mind:

i-don-t-care-what-you-think-about-me-i-don-t-think-about-you-at-all.png

There will always be negative vibes in the work place, but that doesn’t mean that you have to be infected by such mindset. What matters most is that we know ourselves so that we won’t be distracted by these negativity and above all, we must surround ourselves with people who push us up instead of those who always puts us down.

6. HARDWORK

A lot of us would imagine that life after graduation is a bed of roses. It’s not. Actually, it’s harder than you think. In the real world, you get to deal with the real problems such as budgeting your finances, working and dealing with people, and other numerous problems.

Moreover, in work, despite the personal problems you have, it’s not a reason to slack at work. One should always have the energy to accomplish things. At the same time, at times, it’s really exhausting working beyond 5pm or 13 hours everyday which is beyond the regular working hours. However, I don’t want to complain because I don’t have the right to do so. I am shouldered with that responsibility in my job so I need to accomplish it even if it means working beyond office hours.

7. DON’T THINK OF QUITTING IF YOU ARE DISAPPOINTED OR DISCOURAGED

There were times before where I already wanted to give up because I was dissatisfied with several things at work, especially the people. However, I would always remember that giving up is more disappointing or discouraging than the disappointments or discouragements I am facing right now.

I would just remember that these things are signs of my growth.

Watch the video below if you have thoughts of quitting. It’s of great help.

8. IT’S OKAY NOT TO LIKE OTHER PEOPLE AS LONG AS YOU RESPECT THEM

We cannot please everyone. Likewise, there are people whom we don’t like because of certain aspects in their personality. Yet, this is not a reason for us to disrespect them or to step on them so that we would be able to achieve our goal.

With this, a janitor, a messenger, a co-worker, a section head, no matter who they are, each one of us deserves respect.

7afbcf62d9749cbb32767af5238d5239.png

11378932_1475481576100552_224762288_n.jpg

9. TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF

We only have one body and we use it to accomplish the things we need to do. Without our body, we won’t be able function well. If we are sick, we won’t be productive in our tasks. Because of this, it is important that we take care of ourselves despite the stressful work environment.

Despite the stressful work that I have, I really find time to exercise in the morning before I go to work so that I would be able to prepare my mind and body during the day. I have noticed for myself that physical activity made me think better compared when I was just sedentary. At the same time, I also avoid sweet and salty foods when I am stressed out. Instead, I grab for assorted fruits at Robinson’s in order to combat cravings whenever I am stressed.

take-care-of-your-body.jpg

10. TALKING TO THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU THE MOST

Above all these things, I believe that I was able to surpass the trials during my 5 month experience because I usually talk to my ultimate love, Our Almighty Father, each day, before I go to sleep, before I go to work, and even during I work. I always remember that He is just watching me doing my tasks and responsibilities. Whenever I am in trouble or whenever I am in anxiety, I just seek for His help because I know that He will never forsake and leave me.

tumblr_lt59xcj1fT1qzz3teo1_500.jpg

 

From these things I’ve learned, I would always be thankful for such experiences. I wanted to grow. As a vulnerable person, I know that it’s hard to go out of my comfort zone. It’s scary to take that step. With that, I know that growth is just around the corner because of these things.

Above all, I prayed for this job that I have right now. Because of that, I need to carry this cross that I have taken. I believe that God placed me in this company for a reason. I still have a lot of things to unfold in the future. Regardless if these experiences are positive or not, I will carry them and use them to be the best version of myself.

03e4d3945e564e7eee3136e4a2f66758.jpg

Cover photo from Tumblr

 

 

Leave a Reply

