I Cannot Understand My Country Anymore!

55697903.jpg

Looking back, after the May 2016 presidential elections in the country, I had high hopes that the newly elected president, Rodrigo Duterte, would bring a lot of profound changes here in our country. Even though I didn’t vote for him, I believed that he would be able to bring the Philippines at a better place.

Even before he took the seat at the Malacanang Palace, I was already amazed that the was able to convince thousand of drug-addicts all over the nation to cease their faulty habits. However, weeks passed after he took his oath as President of the Philippines, I began to be in dilemma. I began to notice that a lot of drug-addicts have been killed due to the Oplan Tokhang project of the Philippine National Police. Nalaban nga raw. They say that it’s okay to kill these criminals since there is no hope for them to be cured. Yet, what made this bloody revolution an alarming one was the fact that several innocent individuals were accidentally killed because of mistaken identity. At the same time, it doesn’t solve the problem. More wounds have been, in fact, created.

What also struck me was the photo of various drug-addicts confined in a small prison cell. It reminded me of the Holocaust during the World War II. I began to have goosebumps after I saw this picture from Facebook.

philippine-jail-2

At the same time,  I thought that this chaos would just happen in the real world. However, social media had been in a turmoil over the past months. A lot of individuals had been attacked by these trolls who use fake accounts. Worse, they use distasteful, rude, and vulgar words to offend a certain person. It has been a terrifying one since our safety and our identity would be at risk. At times, the person would feel threatened. I believe that freedom of speech is oppressed, little by little.

Right now, I don’t know what direction our economy would go. The stock market has been in a downtrend for the past few months and the foreign exchange rate, most especially the peso-to-dollar trading has gradually weakened. Investors from other countries would still think twice in capitalizing here in our country, resulting to the increase rate of unemployment in the country. I am afraid, we are taking the route next to Venezuela.

Above all, what made a lot of Filipinos disappointed was the Supreme Court’s decision to allow the former President Marcos to be buried at the Libingan ng Mga Bayani. What made it disappointing was the surprise burial without the public’s awareness. They’ve done it like a thief in the night. I thought, truly, together with his family, he is a thief, even at the time of his death. Forever thief.

15134654_1006414052821745_5515255795304414048_n

Naaah! I don’t know what the future holds in our country and what are the outcomes after six years. Right now, the stress level in our country has been in an ultimate high. Our economy is placed at risk because of kissing China’s asses and now to Russia. The public has been uneasy. Filipinos are disunited. Our environment is polluted by rude language and mindless statements. Vulgar language is acceptable since others defend that the individual is just joking. Our country is becoming popular because of the president’s actions. Maybe, he could have just thought that he is representing the Filipino people, not himself.

s.JPG

This is my country, the Philippines. I cannot understand my country anymore.

 

Leave a Reply

