2016, Thank You For Bringing Out The Best In Me

I have just come to realize that less than a month from now, another year will pass. Soon, we will be welcoming the year 2017. This 2016, a lot of us encountered triumphs and victories. At the same time, we have faced struggles, defeat, and difficulties in some aspects of our life. Moreover, what made this more interesting is that no matter what life throws to us, we still continue to fight in each day that we live.

Looking back on the road I have gone through in the past 11 months would make me cry. I believe that this has been the most successful yet most difficult year, so far, in my life. This made me realize that through these struggles and bliss, I became the best person. Indeed, day by day nothing changes but when you look back, everything is already different.

Because of this, I would share to you the experiences I went through in 2016 which made me a better individual. Perhaps, this would make you realize that whatever you are going through right now, you are not alone in this journey.

1. REMOVING TOXIC PEOPLE IN YOUR LIFE

It has been challenging for me in terms of relationships early this year because I just went off from a toxic relationship last October 2015. It was a long-distance relationship. I realized recently that he doesn’t deserve me because he never even valued my worth.
During those times when I already knew that he cheated on me, even though the breaking hurts, I have come to realize my worth as a woman. Moreover, I never regret removing him from my life because even though I have already invested a lot with him, I never physically gave myself to him (Thank God!).

Truly, I became more motivated to become a successful individual. I seek to rise above the stormy waters by not putting my worth to a relationship which could only threaten my individuality as a person.

Moreover, I learned how to be an independent woman at present. Being in a relationship is not my priority right now. I am not pressured by what other people would say that I should be having a boyfriend. My goal right now is to know myself better and to improve myself in all aspects of my life so that I would be prepared whenever God would already present the man which he truly intended for me. I am guarding my heart because I believe that true love really waits.

2. GRADUATING IN COLLEGE

Graduating in college with a degree in Business Administration major in Financial Management has been the greatest accomplishment of my life. I’ve always wanted to make my parents proud not only to me, but most importantly, to us, their three children. I am always motivated to do my best because I am doing this for my parents. I will always be grateful for them because they have always been there to support me in my endeavors. I have always believed that this is the best gift that I can give to them.

Also, I began to value education by the time I reached college. Through education, one would be able to reach one’s dreams and improve one’s life. Likewise, we become better individuals because of the character we would be able to develop through the challenges we would face while studying. Indeed, being in school is just a simulation of real world trials.

3. LANDED MY FIRST JOB

I never would have thought that I would work in a bank one day. God has given me more than what I wished for. Before, I just wanted to work in a regular company. I have thought before that working in a bank is an intimidating one because of the prestige embedded on it. Right now, it’s really challenging to be in this industry where you need to be on track with the fast-paced business environment.

This month, I am thankful since I would be a regular employee days from now. I am proud that I have conquered the most difficult challenges I have went through in the real world. I have learned a lot by being immersed in the real world of banking. Because of this, I continue to strive by doing my best despite the trials I will be facing. Most importantly, I pray for the strength that I would be able to conquer this life’s crucial juncture.

4. SERVING OUR CHURCH AND THE COMMUNITY

I am currently serving our church which is the Immaculate Conception Parish here in Aluba, Macasandig, Cagayan de Oro City. I am part of the Lectors and Commentators Ministry and Parish Finance Ministry. At the same time, I am a member of the Lay Dehonian Philippines Community which is a lay community of the Sacred Heart of Jesus Congregation.

I can compare my life when I was not serving the church. Life is very bland when we are only focused at work or in school. I realized that there is more to these than just being in a daily routine. I was yearning for something more which the world could not satisfy. Truly, despite the busy schedule, through God’s grace, I am able to manage my time at work and at serving our church. I came to know more people from different walks of life and being able to share our lives through the presence of Jesus Christ. Above all, serving the church is my way of glorifying God because of the bountiful blessings He continues to give to me despite of my unworthiness to receive such gifts.

5. BEING TRUE TO YOURSELF

I just discovered recently through the tests I took online that I am an INFJ. Being an INFJ is a challenging one since I belong to the rarest personality in the world. Despite my awkwardness, I still managed to blend with the society. I am proud of my personality type. Because of this, never be ashamed of showing your true self because in this world where there a lot of somebody, be that one and only.

6. FIGHTING FOR WHAT YOU BELIEVE IN

It’s hard to be firm and to fight for what you believe in especially in this world today that might criticize you for thinking out of the box. However, I believe that no matter what other people would say, we should be firm with our principles because these stand as a foundation for us in times of life’s troubles.

7. BROKEN RELATIONSHIPS

It’s a sad truth that people who betray you are not the strangers but ultimately, your family members. I am already fed up with the wrecked relationship of our family. It’s disheartening that siblings care more of the inheritance they would receive from their parents instead of the bond they have shared with them. It’s depressing that siblings would compromise their own selfish satisfactions instead of the relationship they’ve shared with the family. I am already fed up by what my uncle has been doing to us. I just pray for them because one day, they would be able to realize the mistakes and faults they have committed to other people.

8. DON’T GIVE UP

No matter what life brings you, you should never ever give up. Honestly, I was about to give up at my work. However, I thought that those successful people on top would not reach that place if not for the tears and sweat they have shed just to reach the place they have always aspired for. So don’t you give up!

9. THINK
Social media is a prevalent tool today in expressing our thoughts and opinions. However, using it comes with responsibility. So before posting, always THINK. Ask yourself if it is True, Helpful, Inspiring, Necessary or Kind. Then, when the answers to all these questions are yes, then it’s okay to post your opinion. If not, you should be thinking otherwise. At the same time, what you post in social media reflects your brand and image as a person.

Thank you 2016 for these experiences. I will be grateful for the lessons which these things have brought in my life. Next year, I seek to conquer my fears and take risks. I’ll see you then, 2017!

Cover photo from google.com.

Leave a Reply

