When You Get So Busy Even On Weekends

Weekend is usually a time for us to unwind after the busy week from work or from school. It’s usually the time when we can do whatever we want such as watching movies at the mall, hanging out with friends at your favorite milk tea shop, or just becoming a couch potato all day long.

However, for me, I have been very busy even on weekends. I began 2017 with a hectic schedule. These are the reasons why I have been so busy:

1. Reflexology during Saturday mornings

IMG_0016.JPG
Image from drakieness.blogspot.com

I really find time to unwind myself every weekend and one way that I refresh myself is through reflexology. Reflexology is the application of appropriate pressure to specific points and areas on the feet. With this, reflexologists believe that these reflex points correspond to different body organs and systems, and that pressing them has a beneficial effect on the person’s health. The reflexology session runs from 30 minutes to an hour.

Truly, I feel relaxed and calmed after I undergo a reflexology session. At the same time, I get the chance to help the church and the reflexologists for their living. I go to known group in the city which is the Blessed Pedro Calungsod Reflexo-Foor Therapy Group at Nazareno Parish situated at C.M Recto Avenue here in Cagayan de Oro City.

2. Public speaking class at Saturday afternoons

P_20170114_212105_1.jpg

After the reflexology session, I then go to my public speaking class at Speechmasters. The class starts at 2pm and finishes at around 6pm. Enrolling in a public speaking class is one of my goals this 2017. Indeed, I started to see improvements within myself because I became more confident whenever I speak in front of a crowd. It is an opportunity for me to improve myself and to become a better individual.

3. Buying food and grocery for my family every payday

Sometimes, during paydays, after I have a reflexology session, I go to the nearest grocery to buy things needed at home and food, usually lunch meals, for my family. It’s a way for me to payback the things that they have done for me throughout the years even though I cannot literally pay what my parents have done for me just to reach what I have attained at present. Still, I will forever be grateful for them.

4. Lay Dehonian Meeting every 1st and 3rd Sunday of the month

P_20161225_165911.jpg
Our Lay Dehonian Family

Currently, I am a member of the Lay Dehonian group which is the lay organization of the Priests of the Sacred Heart of Jesus. Every 1st Sunday is our business meeting while during the 3rd Sunday is our Bible Sharing and Film Showing.

Being in a religious group provided me a proper formation and perspective in life especially in this era right now where spiritual formation is already forgotten.

5. Lectors and Commentators Ministry Meeting every 2nd Sunday of the month

P_20170108_085819.jpg
Joyous titas from the Lectors and Commentators Ministry of the Immaculate Conception Parish at Aluba

Being a Lector and Commentator at our parish in Immaculate Conception is one of the major turning points in my life. After I was shattered a year ago, being in love with the Lord again gave me a proper outlook in my life. Serving Him gives me a natural high. Likewise, I enjoy being with my fellow lectors and commentators, most especially to my titos and titas and to my fellow youth. Every 2nd Sunday of the month is our meeting and I am in delight whenever I share my life with these precious individuals.

6. Doing my task as part of the Parish Finance Council

P_20161231_171010.jpg
Posting of Gasa Balik Sa Dios last December 31, 2016

Being part with the Parish Finance Council is challenging since I need to meet the deadline that was given to us. I need to work after I go home from office in order to finish the tasks that were given to us for transparency on the church’s finances.

7. Serving the Church every Fridays, 3rd Sundays and 4th Saturdays of the month

P_20161218_035439_1_1.jpg
During the Simbang Gabi last December 2016
P_20161225_153942.jpg
During the Christmas Mass at J.R Borja Memorial Hospital

Being a Lector and Commentator is also one of the challenging responsibilities that I have. I need to be committed with this responsibility since I don’t want other people to get disappointed with me, most especially to our Almighty Father. Waking up at 5 in the morning every Fridays is a difficult one. Yet, I need to do this for Him. Despite that I get tired at times, I am just thinking that I am sacrificing my time for our Lord who has done tremendous things for me throughout the years. With that, it’s my way for me to serve Him and to glorify myself to Him.

8. Jogging every mornings or afternoons

P_20161226_065046.jpg
Early morning jogging at Alegria Hills

I really do my best to exercise at least thrice a week since I rarely sweat or move at the office. It’s also a way for me to be healthy while I am still young. I do really strive to attain a healthy and active lifestyle despite the sedentary work that I have.

I usually jog for an hour at Pelaez Sport’s Center or at our vicinity here in Aluba, Upper Macasandig.

9. Doing my best to write something

Whenever I reflect of something, I pour out my thoughts through writing. It’s a way for me to be productive and to waste my time on the hobby which I love doing.

10. Read 1 book every month

I strive to read 1 book per month which is a total of 12 books this year. Last month of January, I finished reading the book by Michelle McKinney Hammond entitled What To Do Until Love Finds You. This month, I have not yet finished reading the book Craving Grace by Lisa Velthouse. The book is truly relevant for the upcoming Lenten Season.

1433908611_72098_cravinggrace.jpg
The book I am reading this month

Based on the things you have read, you have noticed that I mostly get busy in serving the Church. Even though it’s draining and exhausting at times to be a member of several religious groups, I believe that my life would not be complete if not for the people whom I have known in these organizations. Likewise, it gave me a proper perspective and spiritual formation in my life which is beneficial for me as a person. Above all, one way of glorifying the life He has given me is through serving Him.

You-can-do-it-meme.jpg

At the same time, I have been so busy because I seek to improve myself this year. I wanted to become a better person. Truly, this 2017 is a year where I started to become a risk-taker. I started to take risks even though the outcome is unpredictable. However, I believe that I would be able to profit surmountable returns which are priceless. It’s tiring, exhausting, and energy-draining, but I am glad that I am pouring and prioritizing my time on things that truly matter most.

0b7100fa3fc349b5f98bade5ffaaf95a.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

